Vegetarian cheese

You are here:
Estimated reading time: < 1 min

Vegetarian cheese refers to cheese that is made without animal rennet, which is traditionally derived from the stomach tissue of a slaughtered calf. As an alternative, many vegetarian cheeses are now made with “microbial enzymes,” which are produced through fermentation by bacteria or fungi. These enzymes are widely used in the industry because they are a consistent and less expensive coagulant compared to animal rennet. Vegetarian cheeses can include a variety of types such as cheddar, mozzarella, and feta, among others.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0

Continue reading

Previous: Tofu
Next: Whey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button